DARK BLUE SKY DREAM | Julia Ogrydziak, Artistic Director, Violin | Elaine Chew, Piano


Arvo Pärt, Fratres
William Bolcom, Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano
Kaija Saariaho, Nocturne
Toru Takemitsu, Hika
Maurice Ravel, Sonata for Violin and Piano

About the Show

With a show specially designed for the Chabot Planetarium, Julia Ogrydziak brings us “Dark Blue Sky Dream.” Ms. Ogrydziak transforms the Planetarium into an artistic medium for music, thoughts, and visions. Experience the combination of live music with immersive multimedia for a world premiere which promises to be unforgettable.

The concert features contemporary music for violin and piano from across the Northern Hemisphere – from Asia to Europe to America. Each piece is like a poem, evocative of time, place, memory, and emotion.

Take this trip with two of the foremost contemporary music performers of today. Julia Ogrydziak (violin) and Elaine Chew (piano) have collaborated closely with the top composers or our age – including Steve Reich, John Harbison, and Evan Ziporyn. They have performed worldwide to critical acclaim, and audiences have warm praise for their intriguing program selections and their refreshing interpretations.

So, peer into the night sky and contemplate one’s place within the world and within the universe. Experience sounds and images, converging and diverging, swirling in your mind – find the unimagined, and awaken the senses.